Windows 7

1. Microsoft Windows 7 tutorials 2. Module 1- Installation, Upgrading, and Migrating to Windows 7 tutorials 3. Editions of Windows 7 tutorials 4. Hardware Requirements for Installing Windows 7 tutorials 5. You can install Windows 7 in following different ways, including: 6. Consideration for Upgrading v/s Migrating tutorials 7. What is Migration tutorials 8. Migrating User Data and Settings tutorials 9. Performing an Image-Based Installation of Windows 7 tutorials 10.Configuring Disks and Device Drivers tutorials 11. Partitioning Disks in Windows 7 tutorials 12.GUID - GPT Disk tutorials 13.Disk Management tools tutorials 14. Simple Volume tutorials 15. Spanned and Striped Volumes tutorials 16. Maintaining Disks, Partitions, and Volumes tutorials 17. Disk Quota tutorials 18.Working with VHD Virtual Hard Disk tutorials 19. Device Driver in Windows 7 tutorials 20.System Restore tutorials 21.LAST KNOWN GOOD CONFIGURATION tutorials 22.Configure and Trouble shoot Network Connections tutorials 23.What is an IPv4 Address tutorials 24. Note - IPV4 25. IPv4 address classes tutorials 26.Default Gateway tutorials 27.Public and Private IPv4 Address tutorials 28.IPv6 Network Connectivity tutorials 29.IPv6 UNICAST ADDRESSES tutorials 30. IPv4 Address can be assigned by following types tutorials 31.Implementing Name Resolution tutorials 32. Trouble Shooting Network Connectivity tutorials 33. Implementing Wireless Security tutorials 34.Wireless network Technologies tutorials 35.What is Wireless Broadband tutorials 36.IEEE 802.11 tutorials 37.Wireless Network Configuration tutorials 38. Security Types tutorials 39. Implementing Network Security tutorials 40.Configuring Windows Firewall tutorials 41.Ports and Application tutorials 42.Important Application, Protocol and Port Number tutorials 43.Configure Inbound and Outbound Rules tutorials 44. Securing Network traffic tutorials


IPv6 supports the following types of UNICAST Address






  • Used for Internet (V2)

  • The first three bits (Higher Level) are always 001

  • The next 13 bits known as TLA (Top Level Aggregator) are allocated by IANA (Internet Assigned Numbers Authority). IANA allocates the TLA to Local Internet Registries that in turn allocate individual TLAs to Large Internet Service Provider (ISP)

  • Next 8 bits are reserved for future expansion

  • Next 24 bits of the address contain the NLA (Next Level Aggregator). This identifies a specific customer site. The NLA enable an ISP to create multiple levels of addressing hierarchy within a network.

  • The next 16 bits contain SLA (Site Level Aggregator) which is used to organize addressing and routing for downstream ISP and to identify sites or subnets within a site.

  • The next 64 bits identify interface within subnet. This is the 64 bits Extended Unique Identifier (EUI-64) address. This EUI-64 address are assigned directly to network adaptor (NIC) cards or derived from the 48 bits MAC address of the network card.


Following is summarized format of IPv6 128 bits

3 bits

13 bits

8 bits

24 bits

16 bits

64 bits






NIC Interface ID




  • This is similar to IPv4 address that is auto-configured through APIPA.

  • In IPv4 APIPA assigned address from

  • In IPv6 you can identify Link-Local address by an FP of 1111 1110 10 which is followed by 54 zeros.

  • It always begins with FE80+54 bits 0 + 64 bits assigned to NIC card

  • Nodes use link-local address when communicating with neighboring nodes.

  • You have 64 bits for NETWORK i.e. 18,446,744,073,709,551,616 Networks

  • You have 64 bits for HOST i.e. again 18,446,744,073,709,551,616 Hosts

  • A link local address is required for ND (Neighbor Discovery) and is always automatically configured, even if no other unicast address is allocated.

  • To check Link-local go to RUN - CMD - ipconfig /all



  • Site-Local IPv6 addresses are equivalent to the IPv4 Private address.

  • For IPv4 we have (,,

  • Private Intranets that do not have a direct, Routed connection to the IPv6 section of the Internet can use SITE-LOCAL address without conflicting with aggregately Global unicast address.

  • Site-Local Addresses begin with FEC0, followed by 32 zeros and then by a 16 bit subnet identifier that you can use to create subnets within your organization

  • View and Configure IPv6 Address

  • Press Windows Logo Start Key or Point to the bottom left corner of the taskbar and click Start to get Start Screen.

  • Type ‘Control’ and then select Control Panel.

  • In control Panel Click Network and Internet

  • In Network and Internet panel , click View Network Status and Tasks.

  • This will open Network and Sharing Center, from the right hand side click Local Area Connection or click on your LAN card name.

  • This will open Local Area windows, Click on “Detail” Button. This will open new windows with all configuration detail of selected LAN card. You can verify IPv6 Address from there.

  • Click Close button.

  • To change IPv6 address, click on Properties button. it will open new windows.

  • Scroll down and select Internet Protocol Version 6 (TCP / IPv6) and click Properties button again.

  • It gives you two choice, Obtain an IP Address Automatically or Use the following IP Address.

  • If you want to configure IPv6 address manually, click on Radio button ¤ Use the following IPv6 address:

  • Now enter IP Address for example: f3c0:0:0:fffe::5

  • Enter Subnet Prefix Length as 64

  • Enter Default Gateway as f3c0:0:0:fffe::1

  • Once Done Click OK to close configuration window.


To configure IPv6 Address using Command Prompt do as follow.

  • Press Windows Logo Start Key or Point to the bottom left corner of the taskbar and click Start to get Start Screen.

  • Type CMD and then select CMD, Right Click and then choose Run As an Administrator

  • This will open Administrator: Command Prompt Window

  • Type NETSH command as follows

  • NETSH INTERFACE IPV6 SET ADDRESS “local area connection 1” f3c0:0:0:fffe::5

  • Confirm you new IPv6 address by applying IPCONFIG /ALL